Canada's share will be \$41,700,000 (U.S.). IDA began operations in November 1960 and extended its first development credit in May 1961. By Dec. 31, 1965, it had extended a total of 79 development credits totalling \$1,192,300,000 to 30 countries in Africa, Asia, the Middle East and the Western Hemisphere.

International Atomic Energy Agency.—Formed in 1957, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is an autonomous international organization under the aegis of the UN. The Agency was given a mandate to seek to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity throughout the world in a variety of ways. Because Canada has been designated as one of the five members most advanced in nuclear technology, including the production of source materials, a Canadian representative has served on the IAEA Board of Governors since the inception of the Agency.

As of June 1966, IAEA membership consisted of 96 states. The organization of conferences and symposia of experts, the dissemination of information and the provision of technical assistance are among the methods that the Agency adopts to carry out its functions. With the rapid expansion in the use of nuclear power much of the Agency's program is devoted to this field, as well as to the use to which isotopes may be put in agriculture and medicine. An important aspect of the IAEA activities that is becoming of increasing significance relates to the development and application of safeguard measures to ensure that nuclear materials supplied for peaceful purposes are not diverted to military uses.

International Law Commission.—By Article 13(1) of the Charter of the United Nations, one of the purposes of the UN General Assembly is to encourage the progressive development of international law and its codification. In order to implement and to assist in this function, the International Law Commission was created by a General Assembly resolution dated Nov. 21, 1947. It is composed of 25 members who are elected in their individual capacity. They serve for terms of five years and, in general, represent the main forms of civilization and principal legal systems of the world. On Nov. 28, 1961, Canada's Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs was elected to membership of this Commission. The 25 countries whose nationals form, at present, the International Law Commission are: Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, Ecuador, Finland, France, India, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Japan, Nigeria, Poland, Senegal, Spain, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Arab Republic, the United States of America, Uruguay and Yugoslavia.

Subsection 3.—Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization*

Two Ministerial meetings were held during 1965 and meetings of the Permanent Representatives to the North Atlantic Council were held continuously throughout the year at NATO headquarters in Paris.

The annual spring meeting was held in London on May 11-12, attended by the Foreign Ministers of the NATO Alliance. The Canadian delegation was led by the Secretary of State for External Affairs. In surveying the international scene, Ministers noted that, so far as Europe was concerned, the situation was basically unchanged. There had been no major crisis or confrontation and the trend toward increased contacts between East and West has continued. On the other hand, the fundamental causes of tension still persisted and little, if any, progress had been made toward removing them. Particular attention was given during the discussions to areas of tension or conflict, such as Malaysia, Viet-Nam, Cyprus, the Dominican Republic and some African States, where threats to international security and peace had arisen.

^{*}The terms of the Treaty and the organization of the Council and subordinate committees are dealt with in the 1954 Year Book at pp. 113-115. A short review of the events leading up to the establishment of NATO and its subsequent membership is given in the 1960 Year Book at p. 167.